Journal of Thermal Analysis, Vol. 30 (1985) 1205-1206

Coming Events

10TH EUROPEAN CONFERENCE ON FLAMMABILITY AND FIRE RETARDANTS MADEIRA SHERATON HOTE, FUNCHAL, MADEIRA, PORTUGAL April 15th, 1986

Papers on Fire Prevention and Combustibility, Flammability and Fire Retardancy of Polymers and Plastics, Textiles, Fibers and Fabrics, Polyurethanes, Paints and Coatings, Testing Procedures, Wood and Cellulosic Materials, Smoke and Toxicity, Marketing and Applications... are now being solicited. Tentative titles must reach before October 15, 1985. Deadline for submission of Abstracts and Biographic Data of Speakers, January 15, 1986. Deadline for complete papers, April 15th, 1986.

Information: DR. V. M. BHATNAGAR ALENA ENTERPRISES OF CANADA P.O.Box 1779 Cornwall, Ontario K6H 5V7, Canada

Prof. C. F. Cullis Department of Chemistry The City University Northampton Square London ECIV OHB, England

> John Wiley & Sons, Limited, Chichester Akadémiai Kiadó, Budapest

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR THE 1986 METTLER AWARD IN THERMAL ANALYSIS

The North American Thermal Analysis Society (NATAS) welcomes nominations for the 1986 Mettler Award in Thermal Analysis. This annual award sponsored by the Mettler Instrument Corporation consists of a certificate, a \$1,000.00 honorarium and a travel allowance of \$400.00 to the 15th NATAS meeting in Cincinnati (September 21–24, 1986).

The award is to recognize and encourage work in and distinguished service to the field of dynamic thermal analysis, including but not restricted to thermogravimetry, differential thermal analysis, and effluent gas analysis. A nominee must have performed outstanding service in the field of dynamic thermal analysis or performed outstanding creative work in the creation of or refinement of measurement techniques of generally wide interest during the preceeding five years.

The previous recipients of the Mettler Award are:

1968 - R. C. MacKenzie
1969 - Robert L. Stone
1970 - Wesley W. Wendlandt
1971 - Bernhard Wunderlich
1972 - Ferenc and Jeno Paulik
1973 - Edward M. Barrall, II
1974 - Jaroslaw Sestak
1975 - Frank Karasz
1976 - Patrick K. Gallagher

1977 – H. Kambe 1978 – John Gillham 1979 – David Dollimore 1980 – Joseph H. Flynn 1981 – Takeo Ozawa 1982 – Jen Chiu 1983 – Roger S. Porter 1984 – Leo Mandelkern 1985 – Edith A. Turi

Nominations should include a description of the accomplishments of the nominee that are relevant to the Mettler Award. Nominations will be accepted through December 31, 1985, and the award will be announced by April 1, 1986.

Nominations should be sent to:

Ruth B. Whitaker 1986 NATAS Awards Chairman Monsanto Research Corporation Mound Facility P.O.Box 32 Miamisburg, OH 45342

J. Thermal Anal. 30, 1985